Archive | August 2011

Earl Sweatshirt – Deerskin


Found this over on Mostly Junkfood’s twitter, and I have to say I’m pretty glad I caught this one. Earl is definitely talented, and although I’m not a fan of OFWGKTA as a whole, Earl and Frank Ocean (Odd Future’s crooner) are both rising stars. As almost everyone knows, Earl is currently off the map, but even though he hasn’t been heard from in a while his stock is continuing to rise thanks to the proliferation of music blogs. FREE EARL

Brenton Duvall- Some Other Party in Paradise Remix

Brenton Duvall is one of the best young DJ/Producers out there right now, and he just dropped a new remix that features Biggie vocals over a Phil Collins sample. Brenton keeps hitting us with great tracks, and I’m sure he’ll keep providing us with good music for a long time. Here’s what he had to say about this remix:

I don’t think I was ever gonna drop this track…Kinda unfinished…Only been played live a few times. Phil Collins sample. Look at that young guy. Some Biggie for good measure, because remixes aren’t remixes until Biggie’s on them. Then it’s a real remix.

Anyway, here’s an unreleased track. Most tracks are unreleased until they are released though.

Shoutout to GMAD for providing the download link. Download


Pantystep by DJ Troublemaker

pan·ty·step [pan-tee-step] –noun 1. music that makes girls dance around in their underwear.

DJ Troublemaker is the producer/DJ behind King Fantastic, and he recently released this mixtape which is endorsed by Jay-Z himself. I’m providing the tracklist below, but the mixtape mashes all of the songs together into a single 30 minute track. Hit the downward arrow on the soundcloud box to download.


01. Skream – Perforated
02. SBTRKT – Wildfire
03. Turboweekend – Trouble Is (Joker Remix)
04. Joker – Do It
05. Major Lazer – Never Good Enough (The Killabits Remix)
06. Minnesota – Roof Back
07. Subvader – Now We Leave Ground
08. The Dream – Abyss
09. PANTyRAID – Beba
10. Frank Ocean – We All Try
11. Milosh – Push
12. Gold Panda – Marriage (Star Slinger Remix)
13. Rad Omen – Bumpin and Grindin (Throwin’ Ones)
14. Icona Pop – Manners (Extended)
15. Discovery – Osaka Loop Line
16. The Postal Service – The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
17. Rusko – My Mouth
18. Flight Facilities – Crave You (Adventure Club Remix)
19. Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo
20. Marty Party – Cocaine
21. M83 – We Own the Sky
22. The Weeknd – Rolling Stone (Tate La Rock and Troublemaker Remix)



















New Jack’s Mannequin Album In the Works

Everyone has a song that brings them back to a specific time or place, and for me one of those songs is “Dark Blue” by Jack’s Mannequin. The song was on a mixtape I made for a girl, and I can remember this song playing while hooking up with this girl. (Note to self: when none of your friends like a girl, you probably shouldn’t like her either)

Fast forward to today, and I find myself sitting here listening to Jack’s Mannequin wondering when the next album is coming out. After a simple Google search I come to find out that the new album “People and Things” is coming out on October 4th. The album is available for pre-order on iTunes, there is an album trailer you can watch here, and also a single called “My Racing Thoughts” that is streaming online (and below).

New Say Anything Album Is In The Works!

Not much new music to blog about so far today, so I am turning my attention towards something that has me really excited about the future. Say Anything is one of my favorite bands, and they have always made music that I have always enjoyed, and they make songs that are both sick, dark, and twisted while at the same time being beautifully written and able to tell relatable stories.

Lead singer Max Bemis has struggled with drug use and mental disorders, and although he made great music during these periods, he was never where he truly wanted to be mentally. During the recording of the album …Is a Real Boy, Max had a mental breakdown which was eventually diagnosed as bipolar disorder. In 2005, Bemis had another breakdown which lead to his arrest, and he ended up in a mental hospital (which he talks about in his song “Church Channel”).

Say Anything has released 3 studio albums to date, and they are currently working on their fourth. It was recently announced that they are working with producer Tim O’Heir, who also produced their first and arguably best album, …Is a Real Boy. Max posted a video on the band’s website announcing their signing with Equal Vision Records, and being a longtime Say Anything fan I can say that I am excited about the partnership because this means that they can finally make the music they want to make and not have a label breathing down their necks as they record. Check out the video below or head to Say Anything’s website to learn more.


*Video* “Our Deal” by Best Coast

MTV isn’t exactly the place you’d expect to find good music videos these days, but sometimes you can find things in the most unexpected places. The video for Best Coast’s “Our Deal” is directed by Drew Barrymore, and it’s star-studded cast features Chloë Moretz and Tyler Posey as the protagonists, Miranda Cosgrove, Shailene Woodley, and my personal favorite, Donald Glover. This video is more of an opus than just a typical music video, and Drew Barrymore blew this out of the water. The song itself is very good, but the storyline within the video has an intriguing Romeo & Juliet feel to it that somewhat overshadows the music. Check out the new video below:

New Music: Reptar

If you grew up in the 90’s, you probably watched Rugrats. Tommy Pickles, Chuckie, Angelica, and Phil & Lil were every kid’s best friends. If you were part of this group, hearing the name Reptar probably conjures up images of a green Godzillaesque dinosaur.

Let me take this opportunity to introduce you to the new Reptar. Reptar is a new band from Athens, Georgia. The band generated a modest amount of online buzz at the tail end of 2010, and their popularity has since grown immensely following a stellar showcase at SXSW. Their debut EP, which is titled Oblangle Fizz Y’all, was released on iTunes yesterday, and you can head over there to buy it (which I strongly encourage because it is just that good). My favorite song from the EP is “Stuck In My ID,” and you can hear it below.