Archive | February 2012

Rita Ora – “R.I.P. (ft. Tinie Tempah)”

Apparently this new song from Rita Ora was written by Drake and produced by the dubstep duo Chase & Status. Ms. Ora is joined by fellow Londoner Tinie Tempah on the track, which is pretty damn good. This is sure to be a hit in the U.K. and probably pretty popular in the U.S. as well.


Tanlines – “Brothers (Joshua Ryan Remix)”

Before his days as Editor-In-Chief at Engadget and assembling the all-star tech team over at The Verge, Joshua Topolsky was a drummer, DJ, and producer who went by the name Joshua Ryan (it sounded better than Topolsky). Topolsky has been more focused on his tech career recently than his musical endeavors, but he took time out of his busy schedule to remix “Brothers” by  the Brooklyn pop duo Tanlines. One half of Tanlines is Topolsky’s brother, Eric Emm,  so it makes sense that he chose to work with this track.


Gorillaz, André 3000, & James Murphy – “DoYaThing” [Music Video]

We’ve all seen R. Kelly trapped in the closet; now we get to see André 3000 trapped in a fridge. A little while back Gorillaz, 3 Stacks, and James Murphy (of LCD Soundsystem) got together to do a track for Converse called “DoYaThing” and now we have the official visuals. The video is animated beautifully and has a few subtle references to past songs and videos sprinkled in here and there. Check out the video and see if you can spot what I’m talking about.

John Mayer – “Shadow Days”

If you’re a John Mayer fan you know that he recently announced dates for his upcoming tour this spring. He also just released the track listing for his upcoming album Born and Raised which is due out May 22. If you’d like to hear the first single off of the new album, “Shadow Days,” head over to his Tumblr.

Track Listing

1. Queen of California

2. The Age of Worry

3. Shadow Days

4. Speak for Me

5. Something Like Olivia

6. Born and Raised

7. If I Ever Get Around To Living

8. Love is a Verb

9.  Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967

10. Whisky, Whisky, Whisky

11. A Face To Call Home

12. Born and Raised (Reprise)



ScHoolboy Q – “Druggys WitH Hoes Again (ft. Ab-Soul)” [Music Video]

Habits & Contradictions is one of the best albums released since the start of 2012, and if you haven’t listened to ScHoolboy Q’s latest offering I implore you to do so. One of my favorite tracks off of HnC is “Druggys Wit Hoes Again,” and TDE released the visuals for that one today.

Katy B – “Witches Brew (Diplo Remix)”

Diplo decided to drop this unreleased Katy B remix via his Facebook today. I’m normally a fan of anything Diplo touches (I’ve been playing “Climax” on repeat for days), but I’m still unsure on how I feel about this song. Who knows, maybe it will grow on me after a while.

The Hood Internet – “Polish City (Tyga x Neon Indian)”

I’ve always had a soft spot for The Hood Internet, and if you’re familiar with them then you know they have the ability to take totally unrelated songs and seamlessly combine them into a flawless mashup. This time the duo took Neon Indian’s “Polish Girl” and paired it with Tyga’s hit “Rack City” and the product is nothing short of awesome.